About Us

The Embroiderers’ Guild of America organized all the chapters in the United States into 13 regions in 1980. Nancy Miller was selected to establish the Rocky Mountain Region which now includes chapters from El Paso, Texas to the Canadian Border including the states of New Mexico, Colorado, Utah, Wyoming, Montana, Idaho, and a corner of west Texas.

The first region seminar was hosted by the Rocky Mountain Chapter in Fort Collins, Colorado in 1983. Since this first seminar, a region seminar has been held almost every year hosted either by an individual chapter or by a committee of region members from various chapters.

In 1988 the region newsletter, Border to Border, began publication with Nina Soltwedel serving as the first editor. Also in that year a region achievement award was created and named the Clare Award for the patron saint of embroiderers, St. Clare of Assisi. In 1989 a group of stitchers proposed the idea of having a non-juried exhibit of original needlework at each region seminar. It was named the Prospector’s exhibit and an exhibit of original needle art has taken place at every region seminar since. The Rocky Mountain Region is still the only region that has such an exhibit.

The region has hosted two national seminars since its inception: the 1995 National Seminar held in Denver, Colorado and the 2012 National Seminar held in Santa Fe, New Mexico. The region has also hosted the opening of two national exhibits. The first was the 18th National Exhibit chaired by Carole Rinard which opened in Los Alamos, New Mexico in April, 2004. And the second was the 20th National Exhibit chaired by Becky Autry that opened in Palmer Lake, Colorado near Colorado Springs in April 2014.

In 1997 the RMR Jody Gergens Memorial Scholarship Fund was established to honor long time Rocky Mountain Region member and teacher, Jody Gergens. The scholarship is awarded to applicants who want to further their needlework expertise through classes and courses. The Director’s Club, consisting of all past region directors, administers the fund and selects the scholarship recipients.

The region entered the technical age in 1998 when registration for the region seminar that year was available on line. Becky Autry developed the first region website in 2001. The region began their Facebook page in September, 2014.

Since its inception, the region has offered many educational opportunities to the region chapters including region sponsored Group Correspondence Courses, project booklets, region wide outreach projects, scholarships to region seminars, and monetary subsidies to each chapter. These are in addition to helping with region seminars where between 8 and 10 classes in a variety of techniques are offered.

Rocky Mountain Region Directors

2014-2015 Janice Wood Foothills Chapter
2012-2013 Kathy Melville Midland Empire Chapter
2010-2011 Barbara Ing Desert West Chapter
2008-2009 Connie Fudge Silver Valley Stitchers
2006-2007 Carolyn Standing Webb Wasatch Chapter
2004-2005 Wanda Anderson Pajarito Chapter
2002-2003 Becky Autry Pikes Peak Chapter
2000-2001 Kay Haley Western Idaho Chapter
1998-1999 Judy Richards Ogden Needlework Guild
1996-1997 Armida Taylor Western Idaho Chapter
1994-1995 Bette Sargent Foothills Chapter
1992-1993 Barbara Scott Sandia Mountains Chapter
1990-1991 Barbara Loftus Colorado Chapter
1988-1989 Jacqueline Winton Manos Encantadas de Santa Fe Chapter
1986-1987 Carole Rinard Pajarito Chapter
1984-1985 Kay McQuiddy Rocky Mountain Chapter
1980-1983 Nancy Miller Foothills Chapter